Why I’m Writing…

Romans 13:1 – Let every soul be subject unto the higher powers. For there is no power but of God: the powers that be are ordained of God. 

Our country is a mess. We’re trading our values for political correctness. We’re abandoning respect and civility for blind allegiance and forced tolerance. We’re forgetting the very things that made America the country it is today.

My goal in starting this blog is to give you a short but informative weekly reminder of where our country started, what we’re doing right – or wrong, and a Biblical worldview on topics circulating in the mainstream news.

I realize I will likely say things that friends, family, and acquaintances may not agree with in this blog, but I encourage you to challenge me and engage in civil debate. Our country did not come forth by agreeing with what everyone else said or even with “agreeing to disagree.” Our country was started with great men fervently debating ideas to generate, in my opinion, the best form of government the world will ever see until the Millennial reign of Christ. (Just a reminder: civil debate means no name-calling or personal attacks – substance only).

My intention is to make this journey entertaining for me and you. I will provide citations for any facts I reference, and I will note if something is fact or opinion (if it’s not clearly evident from context).

Today’s Take Away

A brief thought to get our journey started. We, as a society, have forgotten how to be respectful. I am as guilty of this failure as the next person. When we disagree with someone’s point of view, we resort to name-calling or worse, we attack their looks or use derogatory, defamatory language to belittle them (Trump, I’m talking to you).

As my theme verse states, we are to respect the higher offices in our country. We should pray for our leaders more than we criticize them, and if we are going to criticize them, it should be over policy ONLY (Note: I will make policy jokes, where they are warranted).

Individuals who refer to my governor, John Kasich, as ‘KaSUCK’ are in the wrong just as much as individuals who attack Former Secretary of State Hillary Clinton on her looks or her marriage. Let’s resolve to be more respectful going forward.

Looking Ahead

Stay tuned for my next post, where I will cover my opinions of the GOP Debate airing tonight (Jan. 28th) on the Fox News Channel.

 

 

3 thoughts on “Why I’m Writing…

Leave a Reply

